Graduation Information


Senior Planning Guide for the Class of 2023

Families can find more information about graduation requirements by meeting with our school counselor/s and at

Graduating in 2018 and Beyond

Graduating in 2018 and Beyond: Graduation Requirements

Ohio’s graduation requirements for the classes of 2018 and beyond have changed in recent years. New state assessments have been created for the class of 2018 and beyond. Students who entered ninth grade in the 2014-2015 school year are no longer required to pass the OGT Ohio Graduation Test.

There are three ways to be eligible for an Ohio high school diploma through assessments.  Each student must do one of the following:

1. End-of-Course Exams

Earn a cumulative score of 18 graduation points through seven end-of-course exams. As of April 2016, the seven graduation exams are:

  1. Algebra I
  2. Geometry
  3. English 9
  4. English 10
  5. Biology* (or Physical Science for class of 2018 only)
  6. US History
  7. US Government

Students take the graduation exam after they complete the course. In some cases, students in grade 7 begin taking End-of-Course exams to earn graduation points.

For each of the seven end-of-course state tests, a student earns one to five points. The chart below shows how the performance level corresponds to graduation points. This graduation option gives students flexibility in accumulating 18 points. For example, a high score on one test can balance a low score on another test.

A student must earn a certain number of points in each subject. The requirements are:

  • Four points on English tests
  • Four points on math tests
  • Six points on science and social studies tests


Advanced 5
Accelerated 4
Proficient 3
Basic 2
Limited 1


2. Credentials

Earn 12 points by attaining an industry-recognized credential or group of credentials in a single career field and a workforce readiness score on WorkKeys, a nationally recognized job skills assessment.

The WorkKeys assessment has three sections: reading, applied mathematics and locating information. Students in the Classes of 2018 and 2019 must earn a total of 13 points across the three WorkKeys sections; students in the Class of 2020 and beyond must earn a total of 14 points. Students must also earn at least three points on each section of the test.

3. National College Exam

Earn scores in English language arts and mathematics on a national college admissions test or tests that indicate the student can do college-level work without needing to take remedial classes. As of April 2016, the remediation scores set by Ohio’s university presidents are set but subject to change:

  • Score of 22 on the ACT Math or 520 on the SAT Math*
  • Score of 21 on the ACT Reading or 450 on the SAT Critical Reading*

Many special circumstances exist to earn points. See the link below for more information about Advanced Placement points in US History and US Govt, transcribed credit earned before July 2015, and College Credit Plus courses

In addition to earning assessment scores above, all students must successfully complete a minimum of 21.5 high school credits in Hilliard City Schools classes.

*Students in class of 2018 only may have taken the Physical Science test to earn points.

ODE has eliminated that test option and no other class of students will take PS.


Heritage Middle School Mascot

(614) 921-7400
(614) 921-7401
Contact Us

William Warfield

Skip to content