Athletic Training

Coaches Education Information


The Ohio High School Athletic Association requires a current CPR card and PAP (Pupil Activity Permit) certificate to coach. As a coach at an OhioHealth partnered school, these classes are offered to you at no cost. The CPR certification is through the American Heart Association and is good for 2 years and the PAP course is an Ohio Department of Education issued certificate that is good for 3 years.

Classes will be posted on the OhioHealth registration website at least 1 month prior to the class date.

Click Here for a pdf of current OhioHealth CPR and PAP classes.

Register for classes online at

For questions: Please call 614-566-2055

There is no charge for Coaches at a School with an OhioHealth Athletic Trainer.   If your school does not have an OhioHealth AT, cost per person is $20 for PAP and $30 for CPR.

Upon registration you may be instructed to “bring payment to class”; no fee will be collected from OhioHealth affiliated coaches. You can also get the complete CPR/PAP schedule from your athletic trainer or in the athletic office.

If the class you wish to register for is not yet available please check back closer to the course date. Pre-registration is required for both courses and you must register for them separately.

Again, classes are offered free of charge to coaches at OhioHealth affiliated schools but any coach is welcome to attend. Coaches attending from schools that do not have an OhioHealth partnership must also register on our website and they will be charged accordingly per class on-site at time of sign-in.


Pupil Activity/Coaching Permit Information

ODE Safe Account login site to create account (statewide)

NFHS Online First Aid, Health, And Safety For Coaches (Counts for PAP)


NFHS FUNDAMENTALS OF COACHING – This is a one time only requirement

NFHS Fundamentals of Coaching



Coaches, it is recommended to take the NFHS Course.  The NFHS has a searchable database to prove what classes you have taken.  If you take the CDC course you will get a printable certificate.  However, the mechanism to save this certificate is not as easy.  If this certificate is lost or damaged there is no way to prove completion without re-taking the online course.

NFHS Concussion in Sports – Free Course

Ohio Department of Health: Information Regarding the Return to-Play Law

OhioHealth Sports Medicine Information on HB 143- Concussion legislation